Tags

, ,

The Decablog

My Sundays got a lot better when I started working on them.  Do I mean that I started asking my boss to schedule my hours on the Lord’s Day? No!  What I mean is that observing the 4th Commandment takes work.  A Biblical, edifying and enjoyable Lord’s Day doesn’t just happen; you must labor for it.  And by far one of the worst ways to approach the Christian Sabbath is by trying to pinpoint the exact amount of secular vocation or physical recreation that is allowed.  That’s coming at the day as though it were a curse, not a blessing.  I wrote about this in an old post called Why Is The Sabbath Controversial?  There I wrote:

the usual questions one gets about the Sabbath concern the exact boundaries of restriction.  How much work is too much? What sort of work is forbidden? For what part of…

View original post 1,471 more words