The Reformed Reader

David Murray’s hot-off-the-presses Jesus on Every Page: 10 Simple Ways to Seek and Find Christ in the Old Testament (Thomas Nelson, 2013) just arrived at my door!  I look forward to reading it straight through eventually and perhaps reviewing it somewhere (at very least, here on the blog), but as it is just in and I’ve got other reading more pressing, I had to content myself by skimming quickly through chapter 15, “Christ’s Proverbs: Discovering Jesus in the Old Testament Proverbs.”  Wisdom literature is a special interest of mine (I spent two summers preaching through portions of Proverbs in an effort to put-to-work my biblical-theological ruminations on the subject),  hence my choice of this chapter over so many others!

With the exception of Graeme Goldsworthy’s Gospel & Wisdom (in The Goldsworthy Trilogy), few writers have tried to connect Christ with Old Testament wisdom beyond simply noticing his “sage”…

View original post 732 more words