Tags

,

A useful post by the reformed baptist fellowship discussing the importance of the gathering of the saints on the Lord’s Day and an exhortation against complacency in being absent on the Lord’s Day.

Reformed Baptist Fellowship

Three

Three Lies We Easily Believe

When we choose (*) to absent ourselves from the gathering of the saints we may well be the victim of one or more of Satan’s lies.

The first lie is that I don’t need ‘it’. By ‘it’ I mean that time of worship, that time of instruction, that time of fellowship, or that time of prayer. When placed on the scales of whatever else it is that I want or prefer at that time I am believing the lie that the means of grace matter little to me. I don’t get much out of prayer meetings, I don’t benefit from Sunday School, I don’t like it when that particular preacher preaches. I certainly don’t need it.

The second lie is that I don’t need ‘them’. That is the saints. I could be with them. I could fellowship with them, enjoy them, be strengthened by them…

View original post 178 more words